Zhen Ren Chuan 2021
Paid support


Letters, tips, corrections? Email preferred (Facebook and Facebook Messenger are not): or call 781-641-4490.

Ostergren winners: Ewen, Laiosa

Claire Ewen

Dom Liaosa

Claire Ewen and Dominic Laiosa have been named the 2021 winners of the the Frederick V. Ostergren Award after a sports year disrupted by the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Touchdown Club of Arlington presents the award annually to the outstanding scholar-athletes, male and female, at Arlington High School. The award has been in effect 1946.

Ewen played basketball, soccer and softball. She plans to attend Bentley University, where she hopes to be a soccer goal keeper. She is the third from her family to win this award. Her brother, Clark, and sister, Abbi, were previous winners.

Laiosa, who will be attending Northfield-Mount Hermon Prep in the fall, played four varsity sports his senior year -- cross country, ice hockey, football and lacrosse.

Fred V. Ostergren, an outstanding Arlington High School athletics coach and one of the first charter members, was the first member of the touchdown club to pass away, on July 4, 1945. It was then decided that, as a prime purpose of the club and a memorial to Ostergren, the awards night would be instituted in his name.

See more photos here >>

June 24, 2020: Ostergren winners: Days, Callahan

This news announcement was published Wednesday, June 16, 2021. Providing this information was Bob "Barts" Bartholomew, AHS l967.



FACEBOOK BOX: To see all images, click the PHOTOS link just below


Your Businesses

Your Arts

Paid support

Your Libraries

Your People

Housing Authority


Your Police, Fire

About | Join | Register | Post opinionFAQs | Privacy | Newsletter • Massachusetts residents report about their town

A.J. Liebling: "Freedom of the press belongs to those who own one." | Copyright © 2006-2021. All Rights Reserved.

site design: